In honour of the father of Small-Angle Scattering, Professor André Guinier, the organising committee of SAS2022 and the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr) will reward a researcher for his outstanding contribution in the field of small-angle scattering.

Nominations for the prize should be sent by e-mail by April 30, 2022 with the subject heading “Guinier Prize” to Chair of the SAS2022, Florian Meneau (, and Chair of the IUCr SAS Commission, Jan Ilavsky ( The e-mail should contain:

  • Justification for the nomination of maximum one page;
  • Brief curriculum for the nominated person;
  • List of main publications.

The award jury is composed of 6 members, 3 representatives from the SAS-2022 Program Committee and 3 from the IUCr SAS commission.

The awardee of the 2022 Guinier prize will be announced at the opening session of SAS2022 and invited to present a plenary lecture on Thursday 15th September.

Previous Winners of the Guinier Prize

  • 2018 – Dmitri Svergun (EMBL, Germany)
  • 2015 – Sow-Hsin Chen (MIT, USA)
  • 2012 – Otto Glatter (University of Graz, Austria)
  • 2009 – Vittorio Luzzati (Centre de Génétique Moléculaire, CNRS, Gif-sur-Yvette, France)
  • 2006 – Heinrich B. Stuhrmann (GKSS Forschungszentrum Geesthacht, Germany)
  • 2002 – Michael Agamalian (ORNL, Oak Ridge, TN, USA)